Yellow Dock

This may be a strange first post, but, I just want to get started. I will share separate pages to give some background as I move along. And thanks to you all for taking the time to read.

I am passionate, no, obsessed with plant medicine, especially identifying the native plants on my property. I have identified just a few. Here is one I am showcasing today: Yellow Dock, or Curly Dock. It grows abundantly here. This is a shot of one I dug up yesterday. It has been growing in a section of the garden that I was allowing to compost all year. The hens loved the leaves, and pecked them away to nothing. I am mulching that bed now, and pulled up the weeds and other vegetation growing there.

Yellow Dock root
Yellow Dock root

I hosed off the loose dirt, set it down and forgot about it for a day. I picked it up again yesterday and used garden sheers to cut the thick, strong roots. I scrubbed them and peeled them, chopped them up and now I will wait for them to dry.

Cleaned and peeled
Cleaned and peeled
Chopped and drying.
Chopped and drying.

Benefits of Yellow Dock:

  • A mild laxative useful in treating constipation and iron deficiency.
  • It has a blood cleansing effect, often combined with dandelion, chickweed, cleavers and burdock to make a Spring tonic.
  • Helps dispel toxins from the system and improves oily skin.
  • Externally, the tincture makes a strong astringent that is used as a gargle for sore throat, and relieving pain.
  • It can be used as a wash or compress for treating insect bites and inflammation caused by allergies.
  • As a poultice, the mashed leaves are applied to swellings, oily skin, or cuts and scrapes for cleansing, astringent, pain relieving effects.
  • Mixed with elderberry, is used to draw out poison from copperhead and rattle snake bites.
  • Rich in vitamins A and C.

Contraindications:

  • Do not use leaves for internal use.
  • Do not use if history of kidney stones.
  • People with liver disease.
  • Overdose causes gastric irritation and diarrhea.

*Much of this information was taken from Richo Cech’s, “Making Plant Medicine”.

Oklahoma is rich with useful plants. The weeds that so many of us discard as obnoxious, may very well be healing. I am learning more about them and will share all that I learn with you.

 

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Donna Kerley says:

    Very informative! Good job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

