Wildcrafting

Wildcrafting has been an interest of mine for awhile. I try to identify edible and medicinal plants that grow wild here. So far I have harvested Yellow Dock and Yarrow. There is so much growing here that I know is edible and has medicinal value but I have yet to identify them all.

I was happy to identify two more plants this week.

This is Mullein.
Botanical – Verbascum thapsus.

20140610-220248.jpg

Its medicinal properties include expectorant, demulcent, emollient and astringent properties. When the dried leaves are smoked it relieves the irritation of the respiratory mucus membranes, and will control a hacking cough. They can also help relieve asthma and spasmodic coughs in general.

It is the only one I have found. I took care not to mow it or weed eat until I could identify. I am glad I did. Next year it will flower and I will leave it alone so that it can re-seed and hopefully make more.

This is Pleurisy Root.
Botanical – Asclepias tuberose.

20140610-222706.jpg

Its properties include antispasmodic, diaphoretic, expectorant, tonic, carminative and mildly cathartic.
“It possesses a specific action on the lungs, assisting expectoration, subduing inflammation and exerting a general mild tonic effect on the system, making it valuable in all chest complaints. It is of great use in pleurisy, mitigating the pain and relieving the difficulty of breathing, and is also recommended in pulmonary catarrh” – http://www.botanical.com/botanical/mgmh/p/pleuri52.html

It is also known as the butterfly weed and is a type of milkweed, which butterflies love of course.

It was exciting to identify some new beneficial wild plants!

4 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

