Then and Now

As I promised here is a then and now post. Unfortunately I do not have all the pictures I wanted to share due to our computer being out of commission. But since things are ever changing out here there will be more as we move along.

We moved here three years ago. Just a pole barn. Our plan is to create a somewhat sustainable lifestyle and ‘retirement’. It takes a lot of time especially when you have limited resources. There are hundreds of projects and we are often scattered on which one to focus on next. While we wish we were a little farther ahead we have made some progress.

We added fences, chickens, grape vines, berry vines, expanded the garden, and created some landscaping to improve aesthetics and give us a nice little place to relax. The area that has naturally developed into our ‘sitting area’ has a name and we call it The Hollow. We add to it every year and sometimes I get really inspired and will do a whole lot of work to it at one time then let it be. I could honestly make it my full time job but it is not productive. The garden is my priority but this space is also important.

Deacon built a house for Logan. It is more like a detached room where he can spread out. It has also turned into a bit of a resource hog and money pit but live and learn. It will be pretty sweet when it is done. And it is close.

The trailer belongs to my my mom and step dad. It gives us a little extra living space, quiet place, and guest house. I like having it here but we are going to relocate it this Fall to the other side of the house.

We also added a storm shelter that is finally being over grown with grass. I thought that I would do something creative with it but it proved to be back breaking work that was getting nowhere. So a grassy hill is just fine with me at this point.

We are about to do some inside remodeling as well and I will share that as we begin and explain why we are doing what we are.
This is what we moved into

20140910-084931.jpg
The beginningDSC_0009
20140910-085032.jpg
Now

20140910-085020.jpg

Then
Then
Now
Now
Then
Then
20140910-085258.jpg
Now

20140910-085309.jpg

Then
Then
Now
Now
Then
Then
Then
Then
Now
Now

20140910-085703.jpg

20140910-085711.jpg

Then
Then
20140910-090900.jpg
Now – Garden is on other side of coop.
Leave a Reply

