Falafel

I used to like falafel. Now I love it! I am by no means an expert on Middle Eastern cuisine. I have prepared the dry mix falafel and enjoyed falafel in restaurants. The difference in tastes is vast. Looking for some menu ideas that are healthy and cheap, I decided to make my own falafel. I sure am glad I did! I have found a new addiction.

Falafel is made with chickpeas also known as garbanzo beans. You can find these dried or canned. Here is a little nutritional information.

I thought I would share with you my version of falafel.

This is not an exact recipe. I didn’t measure my spices. I eyeball it and am usually pretty generous with some of them. This is more of a guideline. I encourage you to play with it and make it your own. These also taste very, very different from the boxed kind or what I have eaten in restaurants. I actually prefer mine, for whatever reason. But that is the beauty of making your own, you can tailor it to what suits your taste.

I use dry beans and cook them on the stove.I used about two cups of cooked beans.

First, I drain them and then mix them up in a food processor. I only pulse it until they are just broken up. I don’t let them turn to mush. I like the texture.

DSCF1582

Next, I mix them in a bowl with spices. The ones I use are:

Chopped onion
Turmeric
Cumin
Ginger
Mrs. Dash
Salt
Pepper
Cayenne Pepper
Sesame Oil

I add a little oil, a tablespoon or two, then mix it up.
Then I add a little flour, a couple of tablespoons. Just enough to help bind it.
Some recipes call for egg but I omitted the egg.
Mix it up until everything is well blended. I found, quite by accident, that letting it chill in the refrigerator for about an hour makes rolling the balls easier.

DSCF1584

Now the fun part…rolling the balls. Make whatever size you desire, but keep it no bigger than golf ball sized.
Heat up your favorite cooking oil in a skillet, an inch or two might be good, or use a deep fryer if you have one.

DSCF1586

Cook until golden. Munch them down! I make a little dipping sauce with Vegan Mayo, Lemon Juice, Rice Milk, Spices, Salt and Pepper but you can find some recipes on sauces that are more traditional.

DSCF1594

This makes a big batch and I keep them in the fridge or freezer for a quick and easy meal. Sometimes I serve them with rice or a plate of raw veggies. It is a good compliment to many meals or makes a great meal by itself.

Leave a Reply

