Mushroom Whiskey Cream Sauce

Looking for some new inspiration for a meal the other day, I remembered Deacon talking about how he made a whiskey cream sauce with shrimp at one of the kitchens he worked in. I asked how I could use that in a vegetarian dish and he suggested mushrooms. Well, duh! Of course!

I don’t make dinners like this often but it was the weekend and I thought why not make a special little dinner. However, trying a new recipe for the first time ever and serving it as a special dinner is always risky especially when I had no recipe, except the random ideas in my head, to go by.

How hard could it be, right? Forgive me for not having exact amounts. For this recipe, it’s really unnecessary anyway if you have even remedial kitchen skills.

Ingredients:

Whiskey (Approx. 1/2 cup) You can use the cheap stuff, though I didn’t have any on hand.
Wine (Approx. 1/4 cup)
Onion, chopped (About 1/2 of a large onion)
Mushrooms (About two cups sliced)
Heavy Cream (1/2 pint)
Pasta
Salt and Pepper

*The wine could be omitted and the amount of whiskey increased. Since I didn’t want to use too much of the good whiskey, I supplemented with the wine.

I sauteed the onions in some butter, sliced Crimini mushrooms and tossed them in. Covered and caramelized.

2015-02-14 09.24.31

Meantime, I cooked the pasta.

I added some red wine to the simmering mushrooms as I didn’t want to use too much of Deacon’s good whiskey. After simmering for about 20 minutes, I added about 1/2 cup of whiskey. Reduced it down a bit then added the cream. Simmered for about 5-10 minutes.

Pour the sauce over pasta and serve! I used linguine, but next time I would like to try a penne pasta.

This dish was accompanied by a baby green salad, Irish herbed butter with toast, and a bottle of red wine.

2015-02-13 18.47.09

Verdict: It was really good! And so simple. I am used to using a lot of spices when I cook but this really doesn’t need any, though I wouldn’t be opposed to experimenting.

Leave a Reply

