Most Wonderful Time of the Year & Dandelions

There is a different energy accompanying Spring and we naturally are in sync with it, we just may not realize it. Even during nice days throughout the Winter when I could have gone out and worked, you know, got a little ahead, I just didn’t feel like it. I worried that maybe come Spring, I would feel the same way…that it would feel like such an unpleasant chore to clean the leaves out of the beds, to make my garden beds, install fencing, plant seeds, flowers, prune, etc.

Well Spring has sprung! And guess what? All I want to do is go out and work in the dirt and sunshine! Work once again feels like play. My body knew it wasn’t time earlier, it was still in Winter mode despite some nice days. During the nice days I just enjoyed the day without engaging in projects.

We have nearly all of our beds made for the garden and I planted some greens. Fresh Kale, Lettuce and Spinach are on the way as well as Peas and Onions. The Beans were planted this week. Some sweet rain moved in after planting which is perfect timing to water my transplants and seeds.

Once the food machine is planted I can move on to my flower beds where I plan on revamping the whole thing…again.

While creating a bed in the garden I had to remove several Dandelion plants. I dug them up preserving the roots and set them aside until I was done working. The Dandelions did not have blooms yet which makes it the best time to harvest them for greens. Yes! Harvest. Dandelions are very beneficial “weeds”.

Dandelion Flowers

It used to be common to make a Spring tonic with Dandelion as well as wine. Dandelion helps us detoxify after the Winter.

Dandelion greens are a good source of Folate, Magnesium, Phosphorus and Copper, and a very good source of Dietary Fiber, Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Vitamin E (Alpha Tocopherol), Vitamin K, Thiamin, Riboflavin, Vitamin B6, Calcium, Iron, Potassium and Manganese.

Dandelion root stimulates the liver and supports healthy digestion. Roasted Dandelion root can be used in coffee or as a coffee substitute.

I cleaned the greens and added them to salads. I roasted some of the roots and dried the others. The leaves are tender and sweeter when harvested young before blooms develop.

DSCF1819 DSCF1820

The flowers are also edible and used to make wine. Perhaps we will give that a go next year.

Do not use plants that are growing along the side of a road, in industrial areas, from sidewalks, driveways or from treated lawns.

I soaked the roots and leaves separately in vinegar water for a while then rinsed them thoroughly, scrubbing the roots.

So don’t discard that “weed”. Dandelions are good medicine! Do your research though and check for any contraindications. Flower Power!

 

 

Leave a Reply

