DIY Sugar and Salt Scrubs

I remember the first time I tried a salt scrub. I thought I was living in the lap of luxury. It was  winter and my skin was  dry and itchy and this stuff did wonders. I stopped using it after awhile, got out of the habit I suppose, didn’t want to spend money on such “luxuries”.

These days I still prefer to not spend money on such things. However, I have developed a new appreciation for natural beauty and health products, particularly skin health, which I attribute to aging.

It was a spontaneous moment when I decided to make my own sugar scrub. Everything I needed was staring me right in the face this whole time and I didn’t even realize it. I was kicking myself for not doing this sooner especially since everything was right here under my nose. I made my first batch with coconut oil, organic sugar, peppermint essential oil, and Hibiscus powder for color. The Hibiscus powder made it a very pretty deep red color and the peppermint is so invigorating. For the next batch, I used avocado oil and Patchouli essential oil. It is my favorite scent and has some awesome health benefits.  Any scent will do depending on preference and action desired.

Sugar or Salt?


It depends. Sugar granules are rounder than salt which makes them less abrasive. This would do well for sensitive skin and for more sensitive areas, like the face. Unrefined sugar contains more minerals which would benefit the skin, but will also be a tad scratchier and likely not suitable for the face. I don’t use scrubs on my face as I use my own special facial wash which provides gentle exfoliation (I will share with you later). It’s wonderful!

Salt is more abrasive and is perfect for the dryer areas like feet, elbows, knuckles, and legs. Sea salt is best and will also help draw toxins out of the body. Himalayan pink salt would also be wonderful.

Cost


You will find salt and sugar scrubs selling for $8-$20 or more. You can make your own for about two dollars and five minutes.

Referring to the ever popular Bath and Body Works brand, a 13 ounce jar of their aromatherapy sugar scrub sells for $20. The ingredients include mineral oil, soybean oil, and parabens. (sub-par in my opinion)

Basic Recipe


img_2244

1 cup salt or sugar

1/2 cup of oil choice (almond, coconut, avocado, grapeseed are good choices)
Begin with a 1/2 cup and add more until you achieve preferred consistency. You do not want it too thin or too thick. Find a happy medium. I used a half cup and it was perfect.

5-15 drops essential oil (experiment with different aromas and combinations)
Suggestions: Lavender, Lemon, Peppermint, Eucalyptus, Patchouli, Ginger.

Combine all ingredients and store in a glass jar. I use a half pint wide mouth mason jar with a plastic lid.

img_2246

Directions on use


Over exfoliating is unhealthy for your skin. It is recommended to use salt scrub about once per week and sugar scrub two to three times per week.

Use a small spoon to scoop out (I use my fingers). Rub over area for about a minute (I do it for maybe 15 seconds), let sit for 3-4 minutes (or if you’re like me, 30 seconds), then rinse off.

I have enjoyed soft and moisturized skin. This is no longer a luxury to me, it is essential!

Have fun, experiment, and enjoy the results.

If you have any special salt or sugar scrub recipes, please share!

Leave a Reply

