Tiny Home Yule Tree

Sometimes I’m feeling it and other times I’m not. This is one of those times where I’m not.

We prefer a simpler celebration which is more of a recognition of the Yuletide, Winter Solstice, and the rebirth of the sun. Sure we engage in gift exchanges and time with family but it’s conservative and low-key. The truth is, I am the only one who has decorated the tree and hung stockings on the wall. The rest of the family may enjoy the scenery but if it was up to them to do it, it wouldn’t get done because they simply don’t care about it THAT much to do it themselves. Do I miss pulling out a childhood ornament and thinking, “OH! I remember this one!” and feeling nostalgic for a moment, telling my son and husband about it while they nod and say to themselves, “she tells us this every year”? Well, not too much. Perhaps photographing my favorite ornaments and creating a digital photo album might be a good thing to do.

I came up with an idea that added a little festive glow to the house but takes up no precious floor space (which we simply do not have), costs about $10. No boxes of decorations were retrieved from the back of the loft in the shed, moved through the cold, cluttering up what tiny living space we have, and hours were not spent on unpacking and re-packing. I’m not cynical (I think I’m not anyway). Maybe I’m just too practical at times. And next year or the year after that I might be totally into it, you just never know. But this year I am not into it, so why force something that will be unpleasant for me? That’s not what this time of year is about. I want to relax a bit, hang out with my family and friends, and enjoy this down time as the pace is going to pick up again before I know it.

If you are looking for a cheap, simple, alternative to the expensive disposable tree or if you have a tiny house like we have and simply no room for one, I offer you this.

img_2323

Burlap ribbon ~ $4
Red wrapping ribbon ~ $3
String of 100 white lights ~ $3
Thumbtacks – I had some on hand

Create a zig zag “tree” with the light strand using thumbtacks to secure it. Then follow the pattern with the ribbon, using the same thumbtacks (you will have to pull them out of the wall and reattach). I topped mine with a sweet-grass wreath. Happy Yule, y’all!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

